Generation emigration, from The Irish Times

A recent ‘Generation Emigration’ article from The Irish Times. I always find it difficult to resist reading these.

I long for the man at passport control to acknowledge me and my journey. A simple “Welcome home, it’s great to have you back!”

As someone who has always felt like a a bit of a tourist in Ireland (‘where in the States are you from?’, the kept asking me at UCD), I can kind of, sort of, identify with the feeling she describes, of wanting to be welcomed home, but not knowing if you really are at home at all.

 

Leave a Reply

